UGC logo.png

自我反省

什麼是自我反思?

思考我們的想法、我們的意圖、我們的言語和我們的行為以更好地了解我們是誰、我們相信什麼、我們的靈魂目的以及我們如何改善自我的行為。

為什麼自我反省很重要?

自我反省可以幫助我們改善我們的情緒、精神、心理和身體健康。

自我反思如何幫助我?

當一個人反思他們過去的經歷時——他或她可以從中學習。我們可以了解什麼讓我們快樂,什麼讓我們感到焦慮或沮喪,並通過分析我們的行為、態度、應對策略和原因 對某些過去經歷的反應——它可以幫助我們更好地控制自己,更好地控制自己的言語和行為,以幫助防止將來出現類似的負面情緒體驗。負面經歷 過去可以讓我們變得更強大,更有能力應對我們現在和未來面臨的挑戰。 

我的自我反省如何幫助他人?

當我們反思自己與生活中發生的事件相關的情感體驗時,我們可以培養對面臨或經歷過類似經歷的其他人產生同情的能力。因此,例如,如果您經歷了創傷性事件,例如在悲慘的道路事故中失去了一個孩子 - 通過反思這讓您感到,什麼幫助了您,什麼沒有幫助您繼續面對生活中的日常挑戰;當我們與他人分享我們的想法、反思和經歷時——自我反思的人可以讓另一個人更好地應對他們的負面經歷。通過分享和談論我們過去的經歷來幫助別人,它可以幫助帶出一個積極的目標,為遭受消極經歷的人賦予意義——並幫助我們在黑暗時期為他人帶來光明,並為那些經歷過痛苦的人帶來希望可能會感到絕望。

通過自我反省,個人通常會感覺更積極,他們的能量似乎會輻射給他人,讓他們也感到快樂。當我們自己感到快樂時,我們更有可能參與到善舉中來,這樣別人也會感到更快樂。 

我怎樣才能變得更加自省?

我們可以在我們所做的一切中保持正念和反思——但是,即使在我們日常生活的混亂中,培養自我意識的能力也需要時間和經驗。通常,當人們處於寧靜、安寧、舒適的空間而不會分心時,他們會感覺更能夠進行反思。自我反省最初可能是一種不舒服和痛苦的經歷——因為當我們想到不愉快的經歷時,它會帶來事件發生時存在的情緒,如果我們當時沒有面對這些情緒會導致我們焦慮和消極的情緒體驗。然而,通過相信自我反省的重要性,如果我們繼續將恐懼放在一邊並面對這些情緒,這通常是了解我們自己和我們所處環境的最佳方式。

如果您對整個自我反思過程不熟悉,從一些簡單的問題開始可能是值得的。一些例子是:

我是誰?為什麼我在這裡?我想從生活中得到什麼?什麼讓我快樂?什麼讓我難過?什麼情況會讓我變得焦慮?什麼情況讓我感到安心?什麼情況讓我感到和平?喜歡我自己的哪些方面?為什麼?別人喜歡我什麼,為什麼?我該怎麼辦 不喜歡我自己,為什麼?其他人不喜歡我的哪些方面,為什麼?我想在我的生活中實現什麼,為什麼?成功對我來說意味著什麼?  

“什麼”和“為什麼”問題可以成為自我反省的良好開端……它們可以幫助我們決定和定義我們的生活目標——幫助我們理解是什麼賦予了我們生命的意義。一旦我們理解了這一點,我們就可以使用它來思考如何塑造我們現在和未來的行為並改變我們的環境,以便我們更有可能實現我們的目標。一旦我們開始了解自己,了解我們是誰,我們就可以專注於如何對自己真實——一旦我們開始對自己真實,我們自然會變得更快樂、更積極,這可以幫助我們放下我們的過去……

 

回顧某次經歷時,人們可能會問:發生了什麼?為什麼會這樣?有什麼我做的事情會影響為什麼這會發生在我身上嗎?我可以從這次經歷中學到什麼可以用來幫助自己和他人?為什麼我反思這次經歷很重要?  

“如何”問題是下一步:

這段經歷對我有什麼影響?這段經歷如何影響他人?它讓我感覺如何?它讓別人感覺如何?我怎樣才能從這次經歷中學習來幫助自己?我如何從經驗中學習以幫助他人?  

當我們反思過去的負面經歷時,我們可以學習——從那次經歷中汲取我們所學到的知識,並將其傳遞給他人。一些負面經歷可能是由於我們過去犯過的錯誤而發生的——記住我們都是人,並且會犯錯誤會很有幫助——重要的是我們從中吸取教訓並儘量不犯錯誤又犯了同樣的錯誤。一旦我們能夠將它們“定義”為錯誤,我們就不太可能繼續犯同樣的錯誤,因為我們已經確定我們的行為已經以某種方式導致了我們生活或其他人的消極情緒。自我反省是幫助我們“定義錯誤”的好方法。

有時,當我們反思時,我們認為負面事件是由於另一個人的行為而發生的。這會產生憤怒、仇恨和怨恨的情緒,進而對我們自己的生活以及我們周圍的其他人產生負面影響。即使從他人的消極情緒中,通過自我反省,人們也可以從他人的經驗和錯誤中吸取教訓。例如,如果有人對您不公正,我們可以反思對方的行為給我們帶來的感受,以便我們可以更好地與正在經歷類似情況的其他人強調。我們可以調整我們的行為,這樣我們就不會犯同樣的錯誤,不會像對我們所做的那樣在他人的生活中造成負面影響。通過反思,我們可以嘗試理解我們認為可能對我們不公正的人並為其找藉口 - 通過反思我們過去的錯誤,我們可以嘗試同情他們以及他們為什麼會以某種方式行事.一旦我們能夠做到這一點,我們就更有可能“原諒”他人的錯誤和消極行為——通過原諒他人,我們能夠“放下”我們可能會產生的憤怒、仇恨和怨恨。最初對那個人有感覺,也消除了我們自己的負面能量。

在其他時候,我們可能會發現,通過自我反省,我們無法“理解”特定事件發生的原因——我們只知道它發生了,並且它讓我們有某種感覺。這種體驗本身可能非常有幫助。通過反思不理解經歷的能力——它可以教會我們謙虛地對待我們對宇宙的缺乏了解,提醒自己我們沒有所有的答案——有時事情的發生是有原因的超出我們的理解能力。人類有時天生就會覺得需要能夠理解和解釋發生在他們和周圍人生活中的一切。我們有時會因為假設我們自給自足並且知識淵博而得意忘形——這可能是一種非常自我毀滅的看待生活的方式——它會導致忘恩負義和傲慢,讓我們的靈魂感覺沒有準備好應對並適應我們生活中可能發生的重大事件,例如親人的喪親之痛、關係破裂、重大身體傷害等。  當我們不期望或不理解的事件發生時,會讓我們感到迷茫、絕望,並使我們更有可能責怪他人而不為自己的生活負責。如果我們的靈魂沒有為最壞的情況做好準備,我們就更有可能遭受創傷後壓力類型的症狀。通過對生活中發生的事件的反思,它可以幫助我們“放下”控制我們生活的需要,幫助我們記住我們不知道未來,我們無法控製過去——而且有一個一種“和平”的感覺可以伴隨著“屈服”到一個我們無法理解的比我們自己更偉大的源頭——只要我們盡力過一種“積極”的生活並幫助他人。  

反思積極的經歷也非常有幫助。它可以幫助我們將我們的行為與積極的情緒和感受聯繫起來,與我們自己和我們周圍的人聯繫起來,從而使我們更有可能繼續這種行為。

 

有時,對我們來說可能是積極的經歷可能會導致我們周圍其他人的消極情緒。例如,駕駛一輛快速的汽車四處行駛可能很危險,並且會使他人的生命處於危險之中。或者沉迷於提供短期滿足感的愛好,例如飲酒或服用非法藥物,可能會導致我們失去對行為的控制並做出可能破壞我們關係的行為。通過反思我們的行為及其原因,它可以幫助我們在生活中承擔責任,並更好地控制我們對可能對他人造成傷害的世俗享樂的慾望——例如色欲、貪婪、懶惰等——我們經常發現提供短期滿足的事件或經歷的長期延續似乎是一種錯覺,會在我們需要的時候拋棄我們,除非我們反思並從中學習 - 我們可能會失去保持長期感覺的能力內心的平靜和實現。  

(以上文字基於 Lale 博士的反思 調諧器)

Self-Reflection

What is Self- Reflection?

The act of pondering on our thoughts, our intentions, our speech, and our actions to gain a better understanding of who we are, what we believe, our soul purpose and how we can better our Self.

Why is Self-Reflection important?

Self- Reflection can help us to improve our emotional, spiritual, mental and physical well-being.

How can Self-Reflection help me?

When one reflects on their past experiences- he or she can learn from it. We can learn what makes us happy, what makes us feel anxious or down, and through analysing our behaviours, attitudes, coping strategies and reasons for our  reactions to certain past experiences - it can help us to gain better control of our selves and use of our speech and actions in order to help prevent similar emotional negative experiences in the future. Negative experiences of the past can make us stronger and more able to cope with challenges we face in the present and future. 

How can my Self-Reflection help others?

When we reflect on our own emotional experiences that have been associated with events that have occured in our lives- we can develop our ability to empathize with others who are facing or who have been through similiar experiences. So, for example if you have been through a traumatic event e.g. losing a child in a tragic road accident- by reflecting on this made you feel, what helped you and what didnt help you to continue with facing the day to day challenges of life; and when we share our thoughts and reflections and experiences with others- the person who self reflects can enable another individual to cope better with their negative experiences. By helping someone else through sharing and talking about our past experiences, it can help to bring out a positive purpose give meaning to the person who suffered the negative experience- and help us to bring light to others during dark times, and hope to others who might be feeling hopeless.

Through self-reflection, individuals often feel more positive, and their energies seem to radiate unto others and make them feel happy too. When we feel happy ourselevs, we are more likely to take part in acts of kindness which can then make others feel happier too. 

How can I become more Self-Reflective?

We can be mindful and reflective in everything we do- but it takes time and experience to develop the ability to be self- aware even in the chaos of our normal day to day lives. Often people feel more able to reflect when they are in a peaceful, tranquil, comfortable space without distraction. Self-reflection can initially be an uncomfortable and painful experience- because as we think about unpleasant experiences, it can bring about emotions that were present at the time of the event which if we haven't faced at the time can cause us anxiety and be a negative emotional experience. However, by believing in the importance of self-reflection, if we continue to put our fears to one side and face these emotions, it is often the best way to learn about ourselves and our environments.

If you are new to the whole self- reflective process it might be worthwhile beginning with some simple questions. Some examples are:

Who am I? Why am I here? What do I want from life? What makes me happy? What makes me sad? What situations cause me to become anxious? What situations make me feel at ease? What situations make me feel at Peace? What do like about myself and why? What do others like about me and why? What do I  not like about myself and why? What do others not like about me and why? What do I want to achieve in my life and why? What is the meaning of success to me? 

'what' and 'why' questions can be a good start to self-reflection.... They can help us to decide and define our purpose for our lives- help us to understand what gives us meaning in life. Once we understand this- we can use it to enable us to think of ways that we can shape our behaviour in the present and future and change our environments in order for us to be more likely to fulfil our purpose. Once we start the process of understanding ourselves, and knowing who we are, we can focus on how we can be true to ourself- and once we start to be true to ourselves, we naturally become happier and more positive, and it can help us to let go of our past...

 

When reflecting on a certain experience, one may ask: what happened? why did it happen? was there anything that I did that could have influenced why this happened to me? What can I learn from this experience that I can use to help myself and others? Why is it important that I reflect on this experience? 

'how' questions are the next step:

How has the experience affected me? How has the experience affected others? How did it make me feel? How did it make others feel? How can I learn from this experience to help myself? How can I learn from the experience to help others? 

When we reflect on negative past experiences, we can learn- take from that experience what we have learnt, and pass it on to others. Some negative experiences may have occurred due to a mistake that we have made in out past- it can be helpful to remember that we are all human, and can make mistakes- what is important is that we learn from them and try not to make the same mistake again. We are less likely to keep making the same mistakes once we can 'define' them as mistakes' because we have established that our actions have led to negativity in our lives or in others in one way or another. Self- reflection is a great way of helping us to 'define our mistakes.'

Sometimes when we reflect, we decide that a negative event happened due to the actions of another person. This can create feelings of anger and hatred and resentment which can then have a negative effect on our own lives and therefore on others around us. Even from the negativity of others, through self-reflection one can learn from the experience and mistakes of others. For example if somebody has been unjust to you, we can reflect on how the actions of the other person made us feel, so that we may better emphasize with others that are going through similar situations. We can adjust our behaviours so that we don't make the same mistakes and cause negativity in the lives of others like what was done to us. Through reflection we can try to understand and make excuses for the person that we feel may have been unjust towards us- and through reflecting on our own mistakes in the past we can try to empathise with them and why they may have acted in a certain way. Once we are able to do this, we are more likely to be able to 'forgive' others for their mistakes and negative behaviour- and through forgiving others, we are able to 'let go' of the anger, hatred and resentment that we may have initially felt for that person, removing that negative energy from ourselves too.

At other times we may find that through self-reflection we are not able to 'understand' why a specific event has occurred- all we know is that it happened, and that it left us feeling a certain way. This experience itself can be very helpful. Through reflecting on the ability to not understand an experience-it can teach us to learn humility about our lack of knowledge of the universe, and it can be helpful to remind ourselves that we do not have all the answers- and sometimes things happen for reasons beyond our ability to understand. Humans can sometimes by nature tend to feel the need to be able to understand and explain everything that occurs in their lives and those around them. We sometimes get carried away by assuming that we are self-sufficient and all knowledgeable- which can be a very self-destructive way of looking at life- it can lead to ingratitude and arrogance and make our souls feel less prepared to be able to cope and adapt to a major event that might occur in our lives like bereavement of a loved one, breakdown of a relationship, major physical injury etc.  When events then happen which we do not expect or understand it can leave us feeling lost, hopeless, and make us more likely to blame others and not take responsibility for our lives. We are much more likely to suffer with post-traumatic stress type symptoms if our souls are not prepared for a worst- case scenario. Through reflection of events that have occurred in our lives, it can help us to 'let go' of the need to control our lives and help us to remember that we do not know the future, we cannot control the past- and there is a feeling of 'Peace' that can come with 'surrendering' to a Source greater than ourselves which we cannot understand- as long as we try our best to lead a life that is 'positive' and helps others. 

Reflecting on a positive experience can also be extremely helpful. It can help us to connect our actions to positive emotions and feelings to ourselves and to others around us and hence make it more likely that we will continue that behaviour.

 

Sometimes an experience that may have been positive for us can lead to negativity in others around us. For example driving around in a fast car can be dangerous and put others' lives at risk. Or indulging in a hobby that provides short term satisfaction such as drinking alcohol, or taking illicit drugs may lead us to lose control of our behaviour and commit a deed that can cause destruction to our relationships. By reflecting on our behaviour and reasons for it, it can help us to take responsibility in our lives and be more in control of our desires for worldly pleasures that can cause harm to others- such as lust, greed, sloth etc- and we often find that long term continuation in events or experiences which provide a short term satisfaction can seem like a delusion that forsakes us in our hour of need and unless we reflect and learn from them- we can lose the ability to hold on to a longer term feeling of inner peace and realisation. 

(Above writing based on reflections of Dr Lale Tuncer)

 

 

 

 

 

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
ADDRESS

The Universal God Centre

32-34 Castle Street

Shrewsbury

SY1 2BQ

SUBSCRIBE FOR EMAILS