UGC logo.png

正念

      

什麼是正念?

 

正念是“有意識”或意識到某事的狀態。

 

正念如何幫助我們?

 

當我們在我們所說的和所做的一切中註意並意識到我們的想法、感受和信念時——以我們感到上帝喜悅的方式,我們就會變得“有上帝意識”,並在尋求真理的同時注意我們的道德和行為可以幫助我們在精神意義上變得更加“正念”、“反思”和“上帝意識”。

 

但即使一個人不相信上帝,正念在很多方面也非常有益:

 

我們中的許多人每天都在擔心過去或未來。這讓我們幾乎沒有時間和能力專注於此時此地。通常,我們的頭腦“充滿”了過去發生的事情或未來可能發生的事情——這會導致我們焦慮並阻止我們真正接受現在發生的事情。我們缺乏“意識”或“正念”可能會給我們的家庭生活、家庭伴侶、孩子以及我們的工作生活帶來很多麻煩。它會影響我們的人際關係,並影響我們“傾聽”他人和擁抱親人的能力。它會影響我們集中註意力和反思的能力,並為可能發生在我們生活中的意外事件做準備——而且我們經常發現,當我們不注意此時此地時,我們就無法最大限度地享受生活。例如,擔心昨天的事件或我們必須跑哪些差事,而我們的孩子或所愛的人正在對我們說話——我們是真的“看到”或“聽到”了它們,還是看穿了它們?這對他們的感情有何影響?它如何影響我們與那個人的關係?那麼這對我們的生活有什麼影響呢?

 

缺乏正念會導致我們對選擇如何度過我們的時間感到不滿意。它會影響我們享受人際關係、我們的孩子、我們的工作、我們吃的食物等的能力,並可能導致焦慮程度增加,降低我們的情緒,降低我們的能量水平,影響我們的食慾,增加孤獨感和影響我們的睡眠能力——最終是我們的情感、精神、精神和身體健康以及我們發揮最大潛力的能力。

 

例如 - 吃我們喜歡的東西能獲得多少樂趣?例如,當我們在吃飯時將精力集中在味蕾上,而不是同時說話、看電視或工作時——我們經常發現,如果我們專注於每一口,食物的味道不如我們口中食物的質地、氣味,以及我們是否沒有因為嘗試同時做其他事情而分心。因此,在我們吃喝時保持正念可以為我們的生活帶來樂趣和幸福——正如在我們所做的所有其他事情上保持正念一樣。

 

另一個例子——我們在看書或看我們最喜歡的電視節目時能夠專注於我們的工作、學習或吸收信息——當我們不斷擔心家務需要如何做,或者在家裡穿什麼?即將舉行的活動,或者我們去購物時要買什麼?-這些只是示例-但是想像一下,能夠不擔心可能發生或可能不會發生、需要或不需要完成的一百件事,並且能夠關掉它——我們能從我們正在閱讀的那本書中學到多少?我們的工作效率會提高多少?擁抱我們的孩子或花時間與我們所愛的人交談,我們會獲得多少滿足感。

 

正念如何幫助他人?

 

當我們學會如何注意自己時,我們會發現我們的“反思”能力也更加專注。通過反思,我們從過去的事件中學習,並更有能力將過去的消極情緒轉化為我們現在和未來的積極情緒。 (見反射部分)。當我們能夠更多地反思時,我們就更能夠放下過去的煩惱,並通過正念為我們的“現在”賦予更多意義。

 

當我們能夠對我們的言語和行為變得更加反思和注意時——這會對我們生活中的許多領域產生巨大影響,這些領域直接或間接地影響他人。

 

直接地:

 

- 與人的關係:許多關係因一方或另一方或雙方感覺好像沒有被“傾聽”而出現問題。如果我們更多地傾聽他人的聲音——這會讓他們覺得我們很關心,並且可以幫助為他人的生活帶來積極的影響。通過傾聽他人,我們也可以幫助自己,特別是如果我們是善於反思的個體——我們可以通過分享經驗、情感、信念、想法和想法,從彼此身上學到更多東西。當我們認真傾聽他人的意見時,我們可以更好地理解他們的觀點——這有助於我們對他們和他人的行為。因此,正念可以幫助我們與家人和朋友的關係,甚至我們與寵物或我們周圍其他生物的互動。

 

與上帝的關係:正念可以幫助我們通過冥想和祈禱與上帝直接聯繫的能力(如果一個人相信上帝)——因為如果我們能夠“關閉”佔據的其他想法和情緒,我們更有可能從這些活動中受益我們的頭腦。與我們的源頭或造物主“連接”的能力,然後可以使我們變得更加專注,我們越能夠與我們的造物主建立關係,我們就可以通過在我們的演講中包含他來學習變得更專注和行動。當我們了解什麼是討上帝喜悅的:仁慈、愛、寬恕、憐憫、正義等——如果我們在我們所做的一切和所說的一切中都牢記對他的責任——我們就更有可能過上帶來和平的生活幸福給他人,因此也給我們自己。

 

間接:

 

通過正念提高我們更加專注和傾聽他人的能力,我們創造了吸引他人的正能量,並可以幫助我們克服自卑、情緒低落、焦慮和內疚的感覺,這些感覺有時可能會產生在其他人周圍。當我們的關係更加平衡並且我們與他人之間的互動感覺更積極而不是消極時 - 這可以增加我們的喜悅和幸福以及內心的平靜。

 

當我們更加註意自己的言談舉止以及日常生活中的任何方式時,我們就會擁抱“喜悅”和“內心平靜”的情緒,尤其是當我們從事的活動時,或者我們正在使用的演講是“積極的”。這種積極性就像一道“光”,在別人身上反射,然後又回到我們自己身上。

 

我們怎樣才能變得更正念?

 

一個人變得更加專注的能力始於“意圖”。對於一個真正想要變得更加專注的人來說,他或她經常需要讓自己相信這會給自己和他人帶來好處。如果我們不真誠地相信它可以為我們的生活帶來好處,我們就不太可能堅持下去,而且更有可能從我們開始的正念祈禱或冥想練習中失敗。被這裡的內容或其他人告知正念可以幫助我們——可能無法說服我們。因此 - 為什麼不自己嘗試一下呢?您可以在下面找到一些正念練習來嘗試-如果這不能說服您-也許有關正念的課程或課程或課程可能會有所幫助。

 

在 UGC,我們提供正念治療課程 - 可以作為個人或團體進行。 (請參閱療法)- 課程可以針對您認為最受益的生活領域量身定制。

 

有時,我們生活中發生的重大事件可以觸發或提醒我們,生命是寶貴的——我們所擁有的關係,我們所愛的人,比世界上任何事情都重要:例如。失去親人,由於我們的伴侶感覺“不被傾聽”而導致家庭破裂。 或者我們需要在工作中更加註意:也許會失去工作?或者,也許我們需要更加註意我們對待他人的方式——例如,在犯罪記錄導致入獄或對他人造成傷害以及這對我們產生的負面影響之後?

 

 

一旦我們說服自己正念很重要——變得更加正念的“意圖”本身就非常強大。

 

每個人的生活都是他們自己的個人旅程,沒有固定的方法可以變得更加專注。

 

  1. 意圖——必須讓自己相信它的好處

  2. 練習/實驗-試試看

  3. 不要讓自己負擔過重 - 一步一步,然後逐漸增加

  4. 紀律和常規(在冥想或祈禱中)——在正念期間留出早上、下午和晚上的時間進行祈禱或冥想

  5. 毅力 - 不要放棄 - 這可能需要很長時間,有時是一個緩慢的過程,但如果做得好 - 一個人會立即看到對自己和他人的好處

 

對於那些相信造物主或生命之源的人 - 一個好的開始方法是嘗試與他“連接”。建立祈禱和冥想的例行程序 - 通常許多人發現非常有用。即使只花幾分鐘,在一天的開始、下午和一天結束時——離開我們正在做的事情,為“我們”騰出時間“關閉”世俗的干擾,並記住上帝和他美麗的屬性,讚美他,為他人祈禱,請求他引導我們,幫助我們改善自己,更加註意我們的言行。

 

(見與上帝連接部分)

 

對於不相信造物主,或不相信造物主,或由於他們可能正在經歷的某些障礙或情緒而感到無法與他建立聯繫的個人,冥想仍然非常有幫助。這仍然需要經常遵守紀律和例行公事,否則我們會發現我們很容易回到舊的方式,很容易被世俗的干擾、慾望和挑戰分心。

 

 

正念練習

 

考慮試試這些:

 

1:下次您的孩子或您所愛的人與您談論他們今天在學校所做的事情時(如果您的心思全神貫注於跑腿、清潔、購物、烹飪、整理、工作等)- 問問自己這個問題:我是否會全神貫注地傾聽我孩子的聲音,享受聆聽他們美妙的嗚咽聲音的每一刻——如果我知道在那天晚些時候或明天,我自己或我的孩子將捲入一場重大車禍,導致一個人喪生?還是我們倆的生活?有時我們可以“震驚”自己,通過記住我們都不知道明天會發生什麼——任何事情都可能發生——這將如何改變我們與他人的關係,從而變得更加謹慎 與他人的互動?如果我們要記住生命是寶貴的,並且明天甚至可能不會在這裡,那麼我們大多數人都會優先考慮更多地傾聽我們所愛的人並向他們表達愛意和愛。

 

2. 下次你吃冰淇淋、巧克力棒、一包薯片或享用美食時——盡量不要在吃飯的同時說話。慢慢吃,細嚼慢嚥——每吃一口,閉上眼睛感受嘴裡的質地,想想不同的味道和成分,並反思它在大腦中引發的情緒。不要看電視,也不要一邊看書,一邊靜靜地坐在那裡享受美食。

 

3.下次去公園散步時——花五到十分鐘自己坐在一個安靜的地方。閉上眼睛,用耳朵聽風的聲音,聽溪水流過的聲音,聽鳥鳴,聽樹輕輕搖擺的聲音,聽蜜蜂嗡嗡的聲音.你能聽到大自然的音樂嗎?現在成為它的一部分 - 我們的想像力。

沒有睜開你的眼睛環顧四周。你看到了什麼?選擇諸如河流、溪流、蝴蝶、花朵或樹木之類的東西。看它。專注於它的顏色,它的質地——想像它觸摸它的感覺——看看它是如何運動的,它發出的聲音,它的美麗——思考它是什麼,為什麼它是這樣,並提出問題- 嘗試與您周圍的事物聯繫起來。現在想像成為你所看到的。想像一下成為一棵樹、一條小溪中的一條魚、一隻鳥、一隻蜜蜂或一朵花會是什麼感覺……

 

4. 祈禱時的正念:如果我們更正念,我們可以從祈禱和冥想中獲得更多的好處。在祈禱期間嘗試變得更加專注時要考慮的事項: 用水沖洗(手、臉、胳膊、腳)——然後去一個安靜的地方,在一個讓你感到輕鬆、舒適和私密的空間中不受干擾。從分心或黑暗的想法中尋求上帝的庇護……將自己置於頂拜姿勢,前額著地,手和手掌朝下放在臉旁邊的地板上,膝蓋彎曲並自下而上在空中。保持這個姿勢5分鐘。想像一下你所有的情緒和思想從你的身體流出,通過你的大腦,流入地下。你可能有的任何焦慮、任何恐懼、任何負面情緒、悲傷、內疚、憤怒——讓它們從你的身體中流出,專注於這種從你流出並回到地面的負能量流動。幾分鐘後,抬起你的頭,同時膝蓋仍然彎曲並跪在地上——閉上你的眼睛——想像一束光照在你的臉上——感受你臉上的光的溫暖,想像它是一種祝福,一種積極的能量,希望與和平的光芒 - 接管您身體中已被移除的負能量所佔據的空間。隨心所欲地重複——每次你俯伏並將前額貼在地面上——集中精力“看到”、“感受”或“想像”從你身上流出的負能量,每次你坐起來時,想像一下光芒光芒照耀著你,為你的生活帶來正能量。你也可以嘗試在這些行為中加入演講——例如使用聖經中的禱告,或者以任何你的靈魂和心靈指引你的方式直接與上帝對話。

(以上文字基於 Lale Tuncer 博士的“反思”)

Mindfulness

           

What is Mindfulness?

 

Mindfulness is the state of being ‘conscious’ or aware of something.

 

How can Mindfulness help us?

 

When we are mindful and aware of our thoughts and feelings and beliefs in all that we say and do- in a way that we feel Pleases God, we become ‘God-conscious’ and to be mindful about our morals and behaviour along with seeking Truth can help us to become more ‘Mindful’ and ‘Reflective’ and ‘God-conscious’ in the spiritual sense.

 

But even if one does not believe in God, mindfulness can be very beneficial in many ways:

 

Many of us spend our days either worrying about the past or the future. This gives little time and ability for us to focus on the here and now. Often our minds are ‘full’ of either what has happened in the past or what might happen in the future- and this can cause us anxiety and prevent us from really embracing what is happening in the present. Our lack of ‘awareness’ or ‘Mindfulness’ can result in causing us much trouble in our home lives, with family- partners, children, as well as our work lives. It can affect our interpersonal relationships and affect our ability to ‘listen’ to others and embrace our loved ones. It can affect our ability to concentrate and reflect, and prepare for the unexpected events that might take place in our lives- and often we find that when we are not mindful in the here and now, we do not enjoy life to the maximum potential. For example, worrying about yesterday’s events or which errands we have to run, while our child or loved one is speaking to us- are we really ‘seeing’ or ‘hearing’ them or are we seeing through them? How does this affect their feelings? How does it affect our relationship with that person? How does this then affect our lives?

 

Lack of mindfulness can result in us not getting much satisfaction in how we choose to spend our time. It can affect our ability to enjoy relationships, our children, our work, the food we eat, etc- and can lead to increased levels of anxiety, reduce our mood, reduce our energy levels, affect our appetite, increase feelings of loneliness and affect our ability to sleep- ultimately our emotional, spiritual, mental and physical well-being and our ability to function to the maximum potential.

 

For example- How much enjoyment can one get from eating something that we like? When we focus our energy into our taste buds while eating instead of talking at the same time, or watching TV, or working for example- we often find that the food does not taste as nice as it does if we concentrate on every mouthful, the texture of the food in our mouths, the smell, and if we are not distracted by trying to do something else at the same time. So being mindful while we eat and drink can bring enjoyment and happiness to our lives- as can be being mindful of everything else we do.

 

Another example- how well are we able to concentrate on our work and learn or take in information while reading a book or watching our favourite TV program- when we are constantly worrying about how the housework needs to be done, or what to wear at an upcoming event, or what to buy when we go shopping?- these are just examples- but imagine being able to not worry about a hundred things that might or might not happen, that need or do not need to be done, and being able to switch off from it- how much more could we learn from that book we are reading? How much more productive would we be at work? How much more satisfaction would we get from hugging our children or spending time talking to our loved ones.

 

How can mindfulness help others?

 

When we learn how to be mindful ourselves, we will find that our ability to ‘reflect’ is also more focussed. Through reflection we learn from past events and become more able to turn negativity from the past into positivity in our present and future. (see section on reflection). When we are able to be more reflective, we become more able to let go of our past worries and put more meaning into our ‘present’ through mindfulness.

 

When we are able to become more reflective and mindful of our speech and actions- this can have a huge impact on many areas in our lives that affect others either directly or indirectly.

 

Directly:

 

- Relationships with People: Many relationships have troubles due to one or the other or both parties feeling as though they are not being ‘listened to.’ If we listen more to others- this makes them feel like we care, and can help bring positivity to others’ lives. By Listening to others, we also help ourselves, especially if we are reflective individuals- we learn more from one another- through sharing experiences, emotions, beliefs, thoughts and ideas. We can understand their perspective better when we listen to others mindfully- which can then help us in our behaviour towards them and others. So mindfulness can help our relationships with our families and our friends, even our interactions with our pets, or other creatures around us.

 

Relationship with God: Mindfulness can help our ability to connect directly with God (If one believes in God) through meditation and prayer- because we are much more likely to benefit from these activities if we can ‘shut out’ other thoughts and emotions that occupy our minds. The ability to ‘connect’ with our Source or Creator, can then benefit our ability to become more mindful, and the more we are able to establish a relationship with our Creator, the more mindful we can learn to become by including Him in our speech and actions. When we learn about what pleases God: kindness, love, forgiveness, mercy, justice, etc- and if we are mindful of our duty to Him in all that we do and say- we are much more likely to lead a life that brings peace and happiness to others, and therefore also to ourselves.

 

Indirectly:

 

By Improving our ability to focus more and listen to others through mindfulness, we create positive energies which attract others to us, and can help us with feelings of low self- esteem, low mood, and feelings of anxiety and guilt that we might sometimes feel around other people. When our relationships are more balanced and the interactions between us and others feels more positive than negative- this can increase our levels of joy and happiness and inner Peace.

 

When we are more mindful of our speech, and our behaviour, and in any way we can be during our day to day lives, we embrace the emotion of ‘joy’ and ‘inner Peace’ especially if the activities we are engaging in, or speech we are using is ‘positive’. That positivity shines like a ‘light’ that reflects in others, and then back to ourselves.

 

How can we become more Mindful?

 

The ability for someone to be more mindful begins with ‘intention.’ For an individual to have a true intention to want to become more mindful- he or she often needs to convince oneself of the benefits it will bring to themselves and others. If we are not convinced sincerely of the benefits it can have on our lives, we are less likely to persevere, and more likely to fall out of a discipline of mindfulness prayer or meditation exercises that we begin. Being told by the content here, or by others that mindfulness can help us- may not convince us. Therefore- why not try it for ourselves? Below you can find some mindfulness exercises to try out- if that doesn’t convince you- perhaps a class, or lesson, or course on mindfulness may help.

 

At the UGC we offer mindfulness therapy sessions- which can either be done as an individual or a group. (Please see therapies)- the classes can be tailored towards the area in your life that you think it would benefit most.

 

Sometimes a major event that has happened in our lives can be a trigger or reminder to us that life is precious- and that the relationships we have, our loved ones, mean more than anything in the world: eg. losing a loved one, a family breakdown due to our partner feeling ‘not listened to.’  Or that we need to be more mindful at work: perhaps losing a job? Or that perhaps we need to be more mindful of the way we treat others- e.g. after a criminal record that has resulted in prison sentence or causing harm to another individual and the negative effect this has had on us?

 

 

Once we have convinced ourselves that mindfulness is important- the ‘intention’ to become more mindful can be very powerful in itself.

 

Everybody’s life is their own personal journey and there is no fixed way of becoming more mindful.

 

  1. Intention – must convince ourselves of its benefits

  2. Practice/ experiment- try it out

  3. Do not overburden oneself- take it step by step, then gradually increase

  4. Discipline and Routine (in Meditation or Prayer) – set time aside morning, afternoon and evening for prayer or meditation during mindfulness

  5. Perseverance- Do not give up- it can take a long time and sometimes be a slow process but if done properly- one will see the benefits to themselves and others immediately

 

For those who Believe in a Creator or a Source to Life- A good way to start is to try to ‘connect’ to Him. Establishing a routine for Prayer and meditation- often many find very useful. Even just taking a few minutes, at the start of the day, during the afternoon, and at the end of the day- to leave what we are doing and make time for ‘us’ to ‘switch off’ from the worldly distractions and to Remember God- and His Beautiful attributes, to Praise Him, and to pray for others, to ask Him to guide us, help us to better ourselves, to become more mindful of our speech and actions.

 

(see section on Connecting with God)

 

For individuals who do not believe in a Creator, or are not convinced within themselves of this, or do not feel able to establish a connection with Him due to certain blockages or emotions that they may be experiencing, meditation can still be very helpful. This still involves the need for discipline and routine often otherwise we can find we easily go back to our old ways getting easily distracted by worldly distractions, desires, and challenges.

 

 

Mindfulness exercises

 

Consider trying these out:

 

1: Next time your child or a loved one is talking to you about what they did at school today- (if your mind is pre-occupied with running errands, cleaning, shopping, cooking, tidying, work etc)- ask yourself this question: Would I be listening to my child fully and mindfully and enjoying every moment listening to their beautiful whining voice- if I knew that later on that day or tomorrow either myself or my child were to be involved in a major car accident that took away one or both of our lives? Sometimes we can ‘shock ourselves’ into becoming more mindful in our relationship with others by remembering that none of us know what will happen tomorrow- anything could happen- How would this change our interactions with others? Most of us would prioritise listening to our loved ones more and showing them affection and love, if we were to remember that life is precious, and that we may not even be here tomorrow.

 

2. Next time you are eating an ice-cream, or a chocolate bar, or a packet of crisps, or enjoying a meal- try not to talk at the same time as eating. Eat slowly, and chew your food- With each mouthful, close your eyes and feel the textures in your mouth, think about the different flavours and ingredients, and reflect on the emotions in your brain that it triggers off. Do not watch TV, or try to read a book at the same time, just sit there quietly and enjoy the food.

 

3. Next time you go for a walk to the park- take five-ten minutes to sit in a quiet spot by yourself. Close your eyes and use your ears to listen to the sound of the wind, the sound of water by a stream or a river flowing past, of birds chatting to one another, the sound of trees swaying gently, the sound of the buzzing of bees. Can you hear the music of nature? Now become part of it- us the imagination.

No open your eyes and look around you. What do you see? Choose something like the river, or stream, or a butterfly, or a flower, or a tree. look at it. Concentrate on its colours, its texture- imagine how it would feel touching it- look at how it is moving, the sounds it is making, the beauty of it - reflect on what it is, why it is what it is, and ask questions- try to connect with what you see around you. Now imagine becoming what you see. Imagine what it would feel like to be a tree, or a fish in the stream, or a bird, or a bee, or a flower…

 

4. Mindfulness during prayer: We can get much more benefit from prayer and meditation if we are more mindful. Things to consider while trying to become more mindful during prayer:  Ablution with water ( hands, faces, arms, feet) - then go to somewhere quiet with no distractions in a space which makes you feel at ease, comfortable and private. Seek refuge in God from distractions, or from dark thoughts…Put yourself in the prostration position with your forehead on the ground, hands and palms on the floor facing down beside your face, knees bent and bottom up in the air. Stay in this position for 5 minutes. Imagine all of your emotions, and thoughts flowing out of your body, through your brain and out into the ground. Any anxiety you may have, any fear, any negative emotions, sadness, guilt, anger- let them flow out of your body and concentrate on this flow of negative energy flowing out of you and back into the ground. After a couple of minutes, lift you head up, while knees still bent and kneeling on the ground- and close your eyes- imagine a light shining on your face- feel the warmth of the light on your face, imagine it like a blessing, a positive energy, a ray of hope and peace- taking over the space in your body that was occupied by the negative energy that has been removed. Repeat as often as you like- each time you prostrate and place your forehead to the ground- concentrate and ‘see’ and ‘feel ‘or ‘imagine’ the negative energy flowing out of you, and each time you sit up, imagine the ray of light shining on you, bringing positive energy into your life. You can try adding speech to these actions too – for example using prayers from Scripture, or having a conversation with God directly in any way your soul and heart direct you.

(Above writing is Based on 'reflections' of Dr Lale Tuncer)

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
ADDRESS

The Universal God Centre

32-34 Castle Street

Shrewsbury

SY1 2BQ

SUBSCRIBE FOR EMAILS