UGC logo.png

謙遜

什麼是謙卑?

謙遜是對自己的重要性持謙遜或低級看法的品質。沒有任何比別人更好的感覺。

為什麼謙卑很重要?

為了幫助我們更好地理解謙遜的重要性——讓我們反思傲慢和驕傲——謙遜的對立面——可能帶來的傷害。當某人說話或行為方式給我們留下他們認為自己比其他人“更好”的印象時,我們會有什麼感覺?當我們傲慢或驕傲時,我們不太可能傾聽他人的觀點,也不太可能理解並接受自我反省、正念,不太可能接受其他關於“真相”、學習、改善我們自己。傲慢也常常導致我們向他人展示的慈悲之心降低,因此其他人不太可能傾聽我們也不得不說的話。我們發現這在人際關係和生活的所有其他領域都是短暫的——如果有的話——成功。

如此多的人性是分裂的。這種分裂在很大程度上是衝突和相互嫉妒、驕傲和傲慢以及因為相信我們是對的而其他人是錯的結果。很大一部分原因是我們缺乏謙卑,因此我們無法判斷是非。謙遜伴隨著意識和理解——我們更有可能在精神上成長,彼此擁抱、尊重、愛和原諒——因此,我們不太可能為土地、權力或物質財富而爭吵或爭吵——因為越多我們越謙虛,我們就越有可能想要與他人分享我們的祝福,因為我們覺得自己不值得他們——或者我們用它們來幫助他人,以此來證明我們對他們的感激之情。

與其將我們生活中發生的我們認為是消極的事件“歸咎於上帝”——通過謙卑,我們記得他最了解,一切都由他在適當的措施中給予——而且他是最好的計劃者——和也許如果我們假設某事是壞的,它實際上可能是好的;如果我們假設某事是好的,它實際上可能對我們不利。

謙卑如何幫助我們?

我們都是人,都會犯錯。人類有不同的形狀、大小、顏色、背景——但我們都有一個共同點——我們的靈魂和我們信仰的自由。當我們謙虛時,我們更有可能通過相互學習和個人生活經驗在靈性上成長。最重要的是——我們更有可能以自己希望被對待的方式來對待彼此,從而在生活的各個領域取得成功——尤其是在與造物主和他的創造物的“關係”中。

是什麼讓任何人比其他人“更好”?只要我們還活著,我們都被賦予了“相信”任何我們喜歡的權利——有些人可能會選擇這種相信的權利來選擇相信他們比其他人更好,因為這些祝福是 給他們。但讓我們互相邀請 反思片刻;當我們相信一個人可以比其他人“更好”時,因為他們的種族或膚色,或者因為他或她擁有多少物質財富,或者因為他們的工作地位,或者因為他們的外表有多吸引人,或者因為他們可能擁有的某種才能..-讓我們問問自己-是我們選擇了膚色還是為我們選擇了膚色?如果我們碰巧出生在一個不同的家庭,一個不同的文化,我們今天擁有的供應更少——我們會處於我們現在所處的位置嗎?是我們選擇了我們的教育還是為我們選擇了它?我們對物質財富的真正控制有多少? - 我們能把它帶進墳墓嗎?我們是否選擇了我們認為擁有的所有祝福,或者它們是給予我們並為我們選擇的?我們做了什麼才配得這些祝福?是我們創造了我們的才能還是他們給了我們?我們如何利用這些祝福度過我們的一生——我們是用它們來造福自己,還是用它們來造福那些不如我們幸運的人?提出這些問題可以讓我們意識到,事實上,在生活中,我們擁有的很多東西並不是因為我們應得的——所以它可以幫助我們更謙虛,少吹噓,渴望更多的感激。表達我們對我們的祝福的感激之情的一個好方法是與他人分享,或以幫助比我們不幸的人的方式使用它。它絕不會讓我們比其他人“更好”,因為我們已經確定,人們變得自負和傲慢的大部分內容——不是因為他們自給自足——所以讓我們更多地看到它是對謙遜和感激的考驗......

通過謙卑,我們發現更容易轉向上帝,他是我們可能相信也可能不相信的那一位,他為我們提供了祝福。犯錯是精神成長和發展以及成為“人”的一部分。只要我們因無知而犯錯,謙虛地轉向他悔改,並努力積極改正,我們就更有可能化消極為積極,並利用這種能力幫助他人。通過謙卑,我們更有可能“原諒”那些傷害我們的人,因為我們避免認為我們比他們更好。通過能夠寬恕他人和寬恕他人,我們自然會覺得自己在上帝面前也值得寬恕,這有助於改善我們與創造者、微妙者、覺知者的關係。

與其將我們生活中發生的我們認為是消極的事件“歸咎於上帝”——通過謙卑,我們記得他最了解,一切都由他在適當的措施中給予——而且他是最好的計劃者——和也許如果我們假設某事是壞的,它實際上可能是好的;如果我們假設某事是好的,它實際上可能對我們不利。當我們謙虛時——我們不會假設我們有所有的答案。因此,我們發現“放棄”對“控制”我們無法控制的東西的需要更容易。通過能夠放手,我們更有可能從創傷性事件中繼續前進,充分利用現在和未來,而不是沉溺於對過去的怨恨和憤怒。它使我們能夠用我們擁有的能力對我們的生活承擔更多責任,而不是扮演受害者並責怪他人。

那些相信他的人——通過生活事件意識到,當我們不感激他們時,我們的祝福是多麼短暫,或者如果我們誇耀或假設我們的祝福使我們比其他任何不幸的人都更好:因為在他的手中是萬物的主宰——他給他願意的人,並取走他喜歡的人。

因此,重要的是要提醒自己,我們並不是那麼自給自足或“控制”我們的生活。我們有自由意志,能夠最大限度地利用我們的祝福——所以讓我們表達對我們的祝福的感激之情,用它們來幫助那些比我們不幸的人。但讓我們不要小看他人——因為也許他們比我們更好地使用他們的祝福,即使在我們看來,我們可能比他們更有福。

對於我們這些相信上帝的人:我們可以從已發送給人類以尋求指導和智慧的經文中獲得的信息是 最終使我們比別人更好的不是我們擁有什麼祝福,而是我們如何使用我們擁有的祝福來敬拜上帝和幫助他人。只有上帝知道我們的意圖和想法,而聖經鼓勵我們不要互相評判——所以即使一個人“看起來”比別人更公義——只有他知道他們行為背後的意圖——所以也許我們看到的那個人我們的主比我們更討人喜歡嗎?也許他或她的意圖比我們的更純粹?讓我們謙卑,願他幫助我們保持謙卑並增加我們的謙卑,以便我們能夠與他和他創造的其他人保持良好和健康的關係。

謙卑如何幫助他人?

我們的謙遜程度會極大地影響我們與他人“聯繫”的能力——其他人,無論種族、宗教或背景如何——以及其他受造物。在那些自吹自擂、驕傲自大的人面前,與那些不炫耀自己的祝福、不驕傲地承認錯誤的人相比,我們感覺如何?因此,當我們更加謙虛和謙虛,並在我們的行為中以謙虛的方式行事時——不誇耀我們可能得到的祝福和禮物——我們幫助他人在我們面前感覺更好,這樣他們在我們面前更自在,能夠成為他們的“真實自我”。當我們更自在地能夠在彼此的陪伴下表達真實的自我而不會感到不舒服或被人看不起時——我們更有可能對他人產生愛意,也更有可能對他們產生愛意和對我們的同情——我們更有可能對自己真實,因此建立更持久的可信賴關係,並在許多方面相互創造。

當我們以謙虛的方式行事時——我們會讓別人更容易避免對我們產生敵意和嫉妒的感覺——因此他們更有可能“喜歡”我們並願意與我們建立“關係”。我們更有可能從他們的角度看待事物,因此傾聽他們並理解他們,讓他們感到被愛和被重視。這使其他人能夠更加真實地做自己、相信自己並利用他們所獲得的祝福來幫助他人和我們發揮創造力。

我們變得越謙虛——我們就越意識到我們都是一個靈魂的一部分——一個存在,我們開始以一種有助於“團結”我們的方式“看到”、“聽到”和“感受”我們周圍的環境——我們專注於我們的共同點,而不是因為我們的差異而爭論和分裂。我們意識到除了上帝之外沒有其他神——只有他有權被崇拜。它幫助我們“放下”彼此之間的衝突和憤怒,因為我們不太可能認為我們是對的而其他人是錯的。相反,無論我們做什麼——不是為了贏得彼此——而是為了取悅上帝和他神聖意志的一部分。我們讓他判斷我們的道路並引導我們,我們向他尋求幫助和幫助,我們對他更加感激,因此更有可能盡我們最大的努力來服侍他。

我們怎樣才能變得更謙卑?

有時,生活中會發生一些事件,這些事件讓我們“震驚”出我們在掌控之中的假設,而我們顯然不在掌控之中。生活中的事件,例如失去我們所愛的人,或一場瘟疫摧毀了我們自給自足的能力——可以幫助提醒我們,我們並不是那麼自給自足,也許我們本可以更感激我們的祝福和供應.失去財富、健康、生命、孩子都可以提醒我們,今生不是永遠的,我們所擁有的一切都會消逝和死去,而我們帶進墳墓的只是我們的靈魂——因此它是重要的是我們照顧它。這個提醒本身對我們來說是非常謙卑的。這就是為什麼在重大創傷性生活事件中,我們更有可能轉向上帝並尋求幫助。當我們被世俗的享樂分心並且往往更可能對它們忘恩負義時,我們更容易忘記上帝或“更高的存在”。然而,只要我們是人——我們都會犯錯誤,並會在我們的生活中面對我們認為是消極的事件——直到我們反思它們,並從中學習以改善自己,變得更加感激,記住事情總是可以的更差。

以下幾點可以幫助我們變得更加謙虛:

向上帝求助

尋求知識和智慧:往往我們學得越多,我們就越意識到自己所知甚少。

表達感激之情:在輕鬆的時候,但也可以在困難的時候,如果我們能記住事情總是會更糟

通過在困難和失落時期的反思——提醒自己我們無法最終控制一切。這可以幫助我們轉向上帝——他最終控制著生命和所有存在

通過正念——當我們注意自己的言語和行為,並試圖以我們自己希望被對待的方式對待他人時——我們表現出謙遜,我們不認為我們比別人更好。

通過慈愛的行為

通過我們的言行謙虛:避免誇誇其談的言談舉止、穿著打扮、舉止端莊,以免讓別人覺得我們在吹噓自己所得到的祝福。

(以上作品基於 Lale 博士的反思 調諧器)

關於“謙卑”的經文引用。

 

“驕傲來了,恥辱就來了,但謙卑來了智慧。”箴言 11:2  

“驕傲使人卑微,但謙卑的人獲得榮譽。”箴言 29:23  

'謙卑就是敬畏耶和華;它的工資是財富、榮譽和生命。箴言 22:4

“負起我的軛,向我學習,因為我內心溫柔謙卑,你會找到靈魂的安息。因為我的軛是容易的,我的擔子是輕的。馬太福音 11:29-30  

“在墮落之前,心是高傲的,但在榮譽之前要謙虛。”箴言 18:12  

坐下,耶穌叫了十二個人說:“誰想成為第一,就必須是最後的,是眾人的僕人。”馬可福音 9:35  

'所以,當你施捨給有需要的人時,不要像偽善者在會堂和街上那樣吹喇叭,以求別人的尊重。我實在告訴你們,他們已經得到了全額的獎賞。馬太福音 6:2  

“智慧的教導是敬畏耶和華,謙卑先於榮譽。”箴言 15:33  

'上主善良正直;因此他以他的方式教導罪人。他引導謙卑的人做正確的事,並以他的方式教導他們。詩篇 25:8-9  

’然後他對他們說:‘誰奉我的名接待這小孩子,誰就接待我;凡接待我的,就是接待差我來的。因為在你們中最小的,卻是最大的。”路加福音 9:48  

'他必須變得更偉大;我必須變得更少。約翰福音 3:30  

“因為人子來也不是要受人服事,而是要服事人,並捨命,作多人的贖價。”馬可福音 10:45

“現在我,尼布甲尼撒,讚美、高舉和榮耀天上的君王,因為他所做的一切都是正確的,他所做的一切都是公正的。那些驕傲而行的人,他能夠謙卑。但以理書 4:37  

“主啊,榮耀不是歸於我們,而是歸於你的名,因為你的愛和信實。”詩篇 115:1

'當你禁食時,不要像偽君子那樣臉色陰沉,因為他們會毀容自己的臉,向別人表明他們正在禁食。我實在告訴你們,他們已經得到了全額的獎賞。馬太福音 6:16

“與造物主爭吵的人有禍了,他們只是地上的陶片中的陶片。泥土對陶工說:‘你在做什麼? “你的作品是說,‘陶工沒有手’嗎?”以賽亞書 45:9  

'現在我,你的主人和老師,給你洗了腳,你也應該互相洗腳。約翰福音 13:14 |國家衛生研究院

來;讓我們跪下敬拜,讓我們跪在我們的造物主面前。詩篇 95:6

'耶和華使貧窮和財富;他謙卑,他提升。 1 撒母耳記 2:7  

“要大大歡喜,錫安女兒!吶喊,耶路撒冷的女兒!看,你的國王來到你身邊,正義和勝利,卑微,騎著驢,騎著小馬,驢駒。撒迦利亞書 9:9  

'你不是這樣。相反,在你們中間誰想成為大人物,就必須做你的僕人,誰想成為第一名,就必須做你的奴隸。馬太福音 20:26-27  

“你關心他們的人類是什麼,你關心他們的人類是什麼?”詩篇 8:4  

“至仁者的僕人是那些謙卑地行走在地球上的人,當無知者對他們說話時,他們會說和平的話。”古蘭經 25:63

'謙卑地私下呼求你的主。的確,他不喜歡過犯的人。古蘭經 7:55

“要謙卑地在心裡記住你的主,不要在早上和晚上宣布它,不要在不注意的情況下。”古蘭經 7:205

“出於憐憫,向你的父母降下謙卑的翅膀,並說:我的主啊,憐憫他們,因為他們在我小的時候撫養我長大。”古蘭經 17:24

“在祈禱中謙卑自己的信徒確實是成功的。”古蘭經 23:02

'不要把你的臉轉離驕傲的人,也不要傲慢地走遍大地。的確,上帝不喜歡每一個傲慢自大的人。古蘭經 31:18

“而且我們已經在你之前向各國派遣了使者,然後我們用貧窮和苦難抓住了他們,也許他們可以謙卑自己。”古蘭經 6:42

“給謙虛的人報喜訊。”古蘭經 22:34

'的確,那些信而行善,向他們的主謙卑的人——他們是樂園的同伴;他們將永遠住在其中。古蘭經 11:23

Humility

What is Humility?

Humility is the quality of having a modest or low view of one's importance. The absence of any feelings of being better than others.

Why is Humility important?

To help us better understand the importance of humility- let us reflect on the harm that arrogance and pride- the opposite to humility- can bring. How does it make us feel when somebody speaks or behaves in a manner that gives us the impression that they believe themselves to be ‘better’ than someone else? When we are arrogant or proud, we are less likely to listen to others’ perspectives, and to understand and be open to self-reflection, mindfulness, less likely to be open to hearing about other perspectives on ‘truth’, to learning, to bettering ourselves. Arrogance also often leads to reduced levels of compassionate loving kindness that we show others, and therefore others are far less likely to listen to what we also have to say. This we find to short-lasting- if any- success in relationships, and in all other areas of life.

So much of humanity is divided. Much of this division is a result of conflict and mutual jealousy, and pride and arrogance and because of believing that we are right and others are wrong. Much of it comes from our lack of humility and therefore our inability to judge right from wrong. With humility, comes awareness, and understanding- we are more likely to grow spiritually, embrace and respect and love one another and forgive one another- we are less likely to therefore argue or fight over land, or power or materialistic wealth- because the more humble we are, the more likely we are to want to share our blessings with others because we feel less deserving of them- or we use them to help others as a way of proving our gratitude for them.

Instead of ‘blaming God’ for events that happen in our lives that we may perceive as negative- through humility we remember that He knows best and that everything is given out by Him in due measure- and that He is the Best of Planners- and that perhaps if we assume something to be bad, it may in fact be good, and that if we assume that something is good, that it may in fact be bad for us.

How can Humility help us?

We are all human, and we all make mistakes. Humans come in different shapes, sizes, colours, backgrounds- but we all share one thing in common- our soul, and our freedom to Believe. When we have humility, we are more likely to grow spiritually through learning from each other, and from personal life experiences. Most importantly- we are more likely to be able to treat each other how we ourselves want to be treated, and therefore be successful in all areas of life- especially in the ‘relationship’ with both The Creator, and His creation.

What makes anyone ‘better’ than someone else? We all have been given the right to ‘believe’ whatever we like as long as we are alive- and some may choose this right to believe to choose to believe that they are better than others because of the blessings that are given to them. But let us invite one another to reflect for a moment; When we believe that one can be ‘better’ than someone else because of their race or colour of their skin or because of how much material wealth he or she has, or because of the status of their job, or because how outwardly attractive they are, or because of a certain talent that they might have..- Let us ask ourselves- did we choose the colour of our skin or was it chosen for us? If we happened to be born into a different family, a different culture with less provision that we have today- would we be in the position that we find ourselves now? Did we choose our education or was it chosen for us? How much control have we really got over our materialistic wealth? - Are we able to take it to the graves with us? Did we choose all of the blessings which we believe we have or were they given to us and chosen for us? What did we do to deserve these blessings? Did we create our talents or were they given to us? How do we spend our lives using these blessings- do we use them to benefit ourselves or do we use them to benefit others who are less fortunate than us? Asking these questions can lead us to realise that in fact in life much of what we have is not because we deserve it- so it can help us to be more humble, boast less, and yearn to be more grateful. A great way to show our gratitude for our blessings is to share it with others, or use it in a way that helps those that are less fortunate than we are. In no means does it make us ‘better’ than others because we have established that much of what people become boastful and arrogant about- is not because of their self-sufficiency- so let us see it more of a test of humility and gratitude…

Through humility we find it easier to turn to God, who is the One that we may or may not believe is the One that has provided our blessings for us. Making mistakes is part of spiritual growth and development and being ‘human.’ As long as we make mistakes out of ignorance, are humble and turn to Him to repentance, and try to actively mend our ways, we are much more likely to be able to turn negative into positive and use this ability to help others. Through humility we are more likely to be able to ‘forgive’ others who wrong us, because we avoid thinking that we are better than them. By being able to forgive others and pardon others, we naturally feel ourselves that we are also worthy of forgiveness in the presence of God and this helps to improve our relationship with the Creator, The Subtle One, The Aware.

Instead of ‘blaming God’ for events that happen in our lives that we may perceive as negative- through humility we remember that He knows best and that everything is given out by Him in due measure- and that He is the Best of Planners- and that perhaps if we assume something to be bad, it may in fact be good, and that if we assume that something is good, that it may in fact be bad for us. When we have humility- we do not assume that we have all the answers. So we find it easier to ‘let go’ of the need to ‘control’ what we have no control over. BY being able to let go, we are more likely to move on from traumatic events and make the most out of the present and the future instead of dwelling on feelings of resentment and anger about the past. It enables us to take more responsibility of our lives with the abilities we have, rather than playing the victim and blaming others.

Those who believe in Him- realise through life events how short-lasting our blessings can be when we are not grateful about them, or if we boast or assume that our blessings make us better than anyone else less fortunate: Because in His Hands are the dominions of everything- He gives to whom He wills and takes away from whom He pleases.

So it is important to remind ourselves that we are not all that self-sufficient or ‘in control’ of our lives. We have free-will to be able to use our blessings to the best of our potentials- so let us show gratitude for our blessings by using them to help others who are less fortunate than we might be. But let us not look down on others- for perhaps they use their blessings in better ways than we do, even though it may appear to us that we are more blessed than they are.

For those of us that believe in God: The message that we can get from scriptures that have been sent to mankind for guidance and wisdom- is that  it is ultimately not what blessings we have that make us better than someone else, but how we use the blessings we have to worship God and help others. Only God knows our intentions and thoughts, and scripture encourages us not to be judgemental of one another- so even if one ‘appears’ to be more righteous than someone else- only He knows their intention behind their deed- so perhaps the one we look down upon is more pleasing to Our Lord than we are? Perhaps his or her intentions are purer than ours? Let us be humble and May He help us to remain humble and increase our humility so that we can maintain a good and healthy relationship with Him and others of His creation.

How can Humility help others?

Our level of humility can hugely affect our ability to ‘connect’ with others- other human beings, no matter what race or religion or background- as well as other creatures of creation. How do we feel in the presence of those who are boastful and proud and arrogant compared to in the presence of those who do not show off about their blessings, who are not too proud to admit their mistakes? So when we are more modest and humble ourselves, and act in a modest fashion in our behaviour- not boasting about our blessings and gifts that we may have been provided with- we help to make others feel better about themselves in our presence, so that they are more comfortable and able to be their ‘real selves’ in our presence. When we are more comfortable to be able to express our true selves in the company of one another without being made to feel uncomfortable or that we are looked down upon- we are more likely to grow our love for others, and for them to grow love and compassion towards us- we are more likely to be able to be true to ourselves and therefore establish longer lasting trustworthy relationships and be creative in many ways with one another.

When we behave in a modest fashion- we make it easier for others to avoid feelings of enmity and jealousy against us- and therefore they are more likely to ‘like’ us and be willing to establish a ‘relationship’ with us. We are more likely to see things form their perspective and therefore to listen to them and understand them and make them feel loved and valued. This enables others to feel more able to be true to themselves, believe in themselves and be creative using the blessings that they also have been given to help others as well as us.

The more humble we become- the more we realise that we are all part of one soul- one existence, and we start to ‘see’ and ‘hear’ and ‘feel’ our surroundings in a way which helps to ‘unite’ us- we concentrate on things we have in common rather than arguing and dividing due to our differences. We realise that there is no other Deity other than God- and that He alone has the right to be worshiped. It helps us to ‘let go’ of conflict and anger towards each other because we are less likely to assume that we are right and others are wrong. Instead whatever we do- is not about winning over each other- but it is to Please God and part of His Divine Will. We let Him judge our ways and guide us, we turn to Him for help and assistance, and we become more grateful to Him and are therefore more likely to serve Him according to the best of our abilities.

How can we become more Humble?

Sometimes events happen in life which ‘shocks’ us out of our assumptions that we are in control when we obviously are not. Life events such as losing a person we love, or a plague which destroys our ability to provide for ourselves- can help to remind us that we are not all that self-sufficient and that perhaps we could have been more grateful for our blessings and provisions. Loss of wealth, health, lives, children can all be a reminder to us that this life is not forever, and that all that we have will wither away and die and that all we take to our graves is our souls- and therefore it is important that we look after it. This reminder itself can be very humbling for us. That is why during major traumatic life events we are more likely to turn to God and ask for help. It is easier for us to forget God or a ‘Higher Being’ when we are distracted by worldly pleasures and often more likely to be ungrateful for them. However as long as we are human- we will all make mistakes and face events in our lives that we assume to be negative- until we reflect on them, and learn from them to better ourselves, become more grateful, remember that things could always be worse.

The following can help us to become more humble:

By turning to God for help

Seeking Knowledge and Wisdom: Often to more we learn, the more we realise that we know very little.

Showing gratitude: during times of ease, but also times of hardship if we can by remembering that things could always be worse

Through reflection during times of hardship and loss- to remind ourselves that we are not in ultimate control of everything. This can help us to turn to God- who is in ultimate control of Life and all existence

Through mindfulness- when we are mindful of our speech and behaviour and try to treat others how we ourselves would want to be treated in all we do- we show humility that we do not assume that we are better than others.

Through acts of loving kindness

Through modesty in our behaviour and words: avoiding boastful speech and dressing and walking and behaving in a modest fashion so that we do not make others feel like we are bragging about our blessings that have been given to us.

(Above Writings are based on the reflections of Dr Lale Tuncer)

Scripture quotes on ‘Humility.’

 

'When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom.' Proverbs 11:2 

'Pride brings a person low, but the lowly in spirit gain honour.' Proverbs 29:23 

'Humility is the fear of the Lord; its wages are riches and honour and life.' Proverbs 22:4

'Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.' Matthew 11:29-30 

'Before a downfall the heart is haughty, but humility comes before honour.' Proverbs 18:12 

Sitting down, Jesus called the Twelve and said, “Anyone who wants to be first must be the very last, and the servant of all.' Mark 9:35 

'So when you give to the needy, do not announce it with trumpets, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and on the streets, to be honoured by others. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward in full.' Matthew 6:2 

'Wisdom’s instruction is to fear the Lord, and humility comes before honour.' Proverbs 15:33 

'Good and upright is the Lord; therefore he instructs sinners in his ways. He guides the humble in what is right and teaches them his way.' Psalm 25:8-9 

'Then he said to them, “Whoever welcomes this little child in my name welcomes me; and whoever welcomes me welcomes the one who sent me. For it is the one who is least among you all who is the greatest.”' Luke 9:48 

'He must become greater; I must become less.' John 3:30 

'For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.' Mark 10:45

'Now I, Nebuchadnezzar, praise and exalt and glorify the King of heaven, because everything he does is right and all his ways are just. And those who walk in pride he is able to humble.' Daniel 4:37 

'Not to us, Lord, not to us but to your name be the glory, because of your love and faithfulness.' Psalm 115:1

'When you fast, do not look sombre as the hypocrites do, for they disfigure their faces to show others they are fasting. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward in full.' Matthew 6:16

'Woe to those who quarrel with their Maker, those who are nothing but potsherds among the potsherds on the ground. Does the clay say to the potter, ‘What are you making? ‘Does your work say, ‘The potter has no hands’?' Isaiah 45:9 

'Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet. John 13:14 | NIV

Come; let us bow down in worship, let us kneel before the Lord our Maker.' Psalm 95:6

'The Lord sends poverty and wealth; he humbles and he exalts.' 1 Samuel 2:7 

'Rejoice greatly, Daughter Zion! Shout, Daughter Jerusalem! See, your king comes to you, righteous and victorious, lowly and riding on a donkey, on a colt, the foal of a donkey.' Zechariah 9:9 

'Not so with you. Instead, whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first must be your slave.' Matthew 20:26-27 

'What is mankind that you are mindful of them, human beings that you care for them?' Psalm 8:4 

‘The servants of the Most Merciful are those who walk upon the earth in humility, and when the ignorant address them, they say words of peace.’ Quran 25:63

‘Call upon your Lord with humility and in private. Verily, He does not love transgressors.’ Quran 7:55

‘Remember your Lord in yourselves with humility and in private without announcing it in the mornings and evening, and do not be among the heedless.’ Quran 7:205

‘Lower to your parents the wing of humility out of mercy and say: My Lord, have mercy upon them as they brought me up when I was small.’ Quran 17:24

‘Successful indeed are the believers who humble themselves in their prayers.’ Quran 23:02

‘And turn not your face away from men with pride, nor walk in insolence through the earth. Verily God likes not each arrogant boaster.’ Quran 31:18

‘And we have already sent messengers to nations before you, then we seized them with poverty and hardship that perhaps they might humble themselves.’ Quran 6:42

‘Give good news to the humble-hearted.’ Quran 22:34

‘Indeed, they who have believed and done righteous deeds and humbled themselves to their Lord- those are the companions of Paradise; they will abide eternally therein.’ Quran 11:23

 

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
ADDRESS

The Universal God Centre

32-34 Castle Street

Shrewsbury

SY1 2BQ

SUBSCRIBE FOR EMAILS