UGC logo.png

التواضع

ما هو التواضع؟

التواضع هو صفة امتلاك رؤية متواضعة أو منخفضة لأهمية المرء. عدم وجود أي شعور بأنك أفضل من الآخرين.

لماذا التواضع مهم؟

لمساعدتنا على فهم أهمية التواضع بشكل أفضل - دعونا نفكر في الضرر الذي يمكن أن يجلبه الغطرسة والكبرياء - على عكس التواضع -. كيف نشعر عندما يتحدث شخص ما أو يتصرف بطريقة تعطينا انطباعًا بأنه يعتقد أنه "أفضل" من شخص آخر؟ عندما نكون متعجرفين أو فخورين ، تقل احتمالية استماعنا لوجهات نظر الآخرين ، وأن نفهم وننفتح على التأمل الذاتي ، واليقظة ، وأقل احتمالية لأن نكون منفتحين على الاستماع إلى وجهات نظر أخرى حول "الحقيقة" ، والتعلم ، تحسين أنفسنا. غالبًا ما تؤدي الغطرسة أيضًا إلى انخفاض مستويات المحبة والحنان اللطيفة التي نظهرها للآخرين ، وبالتالي يقل احتمال استماع الآخرين لما نقوله أيضًا. نجد هذا نجاحًا قصير الأمد - إن وجد - في العلاقات وفي جميع مجالات الحياة الأخرى.

الكثير من البشر منقسمون. جزء كبير من هذا الانقسام ناتج عن الصراع والغيرة المتبادلة والفخر والغطرسة وبسبب الاعتقاد بأننا على حق والآخرين على خطأ. يأتي جزء كبير منه من افتقارنا إلى التواضع وبالتالي عدم قدرتنا على الحكم على الصواب من الخطأ. مع التواضع ، يأتي الوعي والفهم - من المرجح أن ننمو روحانيًا ، ونحتضن ونحترم ونحب بعضنا بعضًا ونسامح بعضنا البعض - لذلك تقل احتمالية أن نجادل أو نقاتل على الأرض ، أو السلطة أو الثروة المادية - لأنه كلما زاد نحن متواضعون ، فكلما زاد احتمال رغبتنا في مشاركة بركاتنا مع الآخرين لأننا نشعر بأننا أقل استحقاقًا لهم - أو نستخدمها لمساعدة الآخرين كطريقة لإثبات امتناننا لهم.

بدلاً من "لوم الله" على الأحداث التي تحدث في حياتنا والتي قد نعتبرها سلبية - من خلال التواضع نتذكر أنه أعلم وأن كل شيء قدمه بالقدر المناسب - وأنه أفضل المخططين - و أنه ربما إذا افترضنا أن شيئًا ما سيئ ، فقد يكون في الواقع جيدًا ، وأنه إذا افترضنا أن شيئًا ما جيد ، فقد يكون في الواقع سيئًا بالنسبة لنا.

كيف يمكن أن يساعدنا التواضع؟

كلنا بشر ، وكلنا نرتكب أخطاء. يأتي البشر بأشكال وأحجام وألوان وخلفيات مختلفة - لكننا جميعًا نتشارك في شيء واحد مشترك - روحنا وحريتنا في الإيمان. عندما يكون لدينا تواضع ، فمن الأرجح أن ننمو روحياً من خلال التعلم من بعضنا البعض ومن تجارب الحياة الشخصية. الأهم من ذلك - من المرجح أن نكون قادرين على معاملة بعضنا البعض بالطريقة التي نريد أن نُعامل بها نحن ، وبالتالي نكون ناجحين في جميع مجالات الحياة - لا سيما في "العلاقة" مع كل من الخالق وخلقه.

ما الذي يجعل أي شخص "أفضل" من شخص آخر؟ لقد تم منحنا جميعًا الحق في "الإيمان" بما نحب طالما أننا على قيد الحياة - وقد يختار البعض هذا الحق في الاعتقاد ليختاروا الاعتقاد بأنهم أفضل من الآخرين بسبب النعم الموجودة.  أعطيت لهم. ولكن دعونا ندعو بعضنا البعض  للتفكير للحظة عندما نعتقد أنه يمكن للمرء أن يكون `` أفضل '' من شخص آخر بسبب عرقه أو لون بشرته أو بسبب الثروة المادية التي يمتلكها ، أو بسبب مكانة وظيفته ، أو لمدى جاذبيته من الخارج ، أو بسبب موهبة معينة لديهم .. - دعونا نسأل أنفسنا - هل اخترنا لون بشرتنا أم تم اختياره لنا؟ إذا صادف أننا ولدنا في عائلة مختلفة ، ثقافة مختلفة مع توفير أقل مما لدينا اليوم - هل سنكون في الوضع الذي نجد أنفسنا فيه الآن؟ هل اخترنا تعليمنا أم تم اختياره لنا؟ ما مقدار السيطرة التي حصلنا عليها بالفعل على ثروتنا المادية؟ - هل نستطيع أن نأخذه معنا إلى القبور؟ هل اخترنا كل النعم التي نعتقد أننا حصلنا عليها أو التي منحناها لنا واخترناها لنا؟ ماذا فعلنا لنستحق هذه البركات؟ هل أنشأنا مواهبنا أم أنها أعطيت لنا؟ كيف نقضي حياتنا في استخدام هذه النعم - هل نستخدمها لإفادة أنفسنا أم نستخدمها لإفادة الآخرين الذين هم أقل حظًا منا؟ قد يقودنا طرح هذه الأسئلة إلى إدراك أن الكثير مما لدينا في الحياة ليس لأننا نستحقه - لذلك يمكن أن يساعدنا في أن نكون أكثر تواضعًا ، ونفتخر بدرجة أقل ، ونتوق إلى أن نكون أكثر امتنانًا. طريقة رائعة لإظهار امتناننا لنعمنا هي مشاركتها مع الآخرين ، أو استخدامها بطريقة تساعد من هم أقل حظًا منا. لا تجعلنا بأي حال من الأحوال "أفضل" من الآخرين لأننا أثبتنا أن الكثير مما يتفاخر به الناس ويتعجرفون به - ليس بسبب اكتفائهم الذاتي - لذلك دعونا نرى الأمر أكثر من اختبار للتواضع والامتنان ...

من خلال التواضع نجد أنه من الأسهل الرجوع إلى الله ، الذي قد نؤمن به أو لا نؤمن به هو الذي منحنا بركاتنا. ارتكاب الأخطاء هو جزء من النمو الروحي والتطور وكونك "إنسانًا". طالما أننا نرتكب أخطاء بسبب الجهل ، ونتواضع ونلجأ إليه للتوبة ، ونحاول إصلاح طرقنا بنشاط ، فمن الأرجح أن نكون قادرين على التحول من السلبية إلى إيجابية ونستخدم هذه القدرة لمساعدة الآخرين. من خلال التواضع ، من المرجح أن نكون قادرين على "مسامحة" الآخرين الذين يخطئون إلينا ، لأننا نتجنب التفكير في أننا أفضل منهم. من خلال القدرة على مسامحة الآخرين والعفو عن الآخرين ، نشعر بشكل طبيعي بأننا نستحق المغفرة في حضور الله وهذا يساعد على تحسين علاقتنا مع الخالق ، الخفي ، الواعي.

بدلاً من "لوم الله" على الأحداث التي تحدث في حياتنا والتي قد نعتبرها سلبية - من خلال التواضع نتذكر أنه أعلم وأن كل شيء قدمه بالقدر المناسب - وأنه أفضل المخططين - و أنه ربما إذا افترضنا أن شيئًا ما سيئ ، فقد يكون في الواقع جيدًا ، وأنه إذا افترضنا أن شيئًا ما جيد ، فقد يكون في الواقع سيئًا بالنسبة لنا. عندما يكون لدينا تواضع - لا نفترض أن لدينا كل الإجابات. لذلك نجد أنه من الأسهل "التخلي" عن الحاجة إلى "التحكم" بما ليس لدينا سيطرة عليه. من خلال القدرة على التخلي عن الأحداث ، فمن الأرجح أن ننتقل من الأحداث الصادمة ونستفيد إلى أقصى حد من الحاضر والمستقبل بدلاً من التفكير في مشاعر الاستياء والغضب من الماضي. إنها تمكننا من تحمل المزيد من المسؤولية في حياتنا بالقدرات التي نمتلكها ، بدلاً من لعب دور الضحية وإلقاء اللوم على الآخرين.

أولئك الذين يؤمنون به - يدركون من خلال أحداث الحياة كيف يمكن أن تكون بركاتنا قصيرة الأمد عندما لا نكون ممتنين لهم ، أو إذا تفاخرنا أو افترضنا أن بركاتنا تجعلنا أفضل من أي شخص آخر أقل حظًا: لأن في يديه هي سلطان على كل شئ - يعطي من يشاء ويأخذ من يشاء.

لذلك من المهم أن نذكر أنفسنا بأننا لسنا جميعًا مكتفين ذاتيًا أو "مسيطرين" على حياتنا. لدينا إرادة حرة لنكون قادرين على استخدام بركاتنا بأفضل ما لدينا - لذلك دعونا نظهر امتناننا لنعمنا من خلال استخدامها لمساعدة الآخرين الذين هم أقل حظًا مما قد نكون. لكن دعونا لا ننظر إلى الآخرين بازدراء ، لأنهم ربما يستخدمون بركاتهم بطرق أفضل مما نستخدمه ، على الرغم من أنه قد يبدو لنا أننا مباركون أكثر منهم.

لأولئك منا الذين يؤمنون بالله: الرسالة التي يمكننا الحصول عليها من الكتب المقدسة التي تم إرسالها إلى البشرية للإرشاد والحكمة - هي أن  في النهاية ، ليست البركات التي لدينا هي التي تجعلنا أفضل من أي شخص آخر ، ولكن كيف نستخدم البركات التي لدينا لعبادة الله ومساعدة الآخرين. وحده الله يعرف نوايانا وأفكارنا ، والكتاب المقدس يشجعنا على عدم إصدار الأحكام على بعضنا البعض - لذلك حتى لو بدا المرء أكثر برًا من شخص آخر - فهو وحده يعرف نواياه من وراء عملهم - لذلك ربما يكون الشخص الذي ننظر إليه هل نرضي ربنا أكثر منا؟ ربما نواياه أو نواياه أنقى من نوايانا؟ فلنكن متواضعين وليساعدنا على أن نظل متواضعين ويزيد تواضعنا حتى نحافظ على علاقة جيدة وصحية معه ومع الآخرين من خليقته.

كيف يمكن للتواضع أن يساعد الآخرين؟

يمكن أن يؤثر مستوى تواضعنا بشكل كبير على قدرتنا على "الاتصال" بالآخرين - البشر الآخرين ، بغض النظر عن العرق أو الدين أو الخلفية - بالإضافة إلى المخلوقات الأخرى. كيف نشعر في وجود أولئك الذين يتفاخرون ويتكبرون ويتكبرون مقارنة بحضور أولئك الذين لا يتفاخرون ببركاتهم ، والذين لا يتكبرون كثيرا على الاعتراف بأخطائهم؟ لذلك عندما نكون أنفسنا أكثر تواضعًا وتواضعًا ، ونتصرف بطريقة متواضعة في سلوكنا - لا نتفاخر ببركاتنا وهدايانا التي قد نقدمها لنا - فإننا نساعد على جعل الآخرين يشعرون بتحسن تجاه أنفسهم في وجودنا ، بحيث إنهم أكثر راحة وقدرتهم على أن يكونوا "ذواتهم الحقيقية" في وجودنا. عندما نكون أكثر راحة في أن نكون قادرين على التعبير عن أنفسنا الحقيقية بصحبة بعضنا البعض دون أن نشعر بعدم الارتياح أو أن يتم النظر إلينا بازدراء - فمن المرجح أن ننمي حبنا للآخرين ، وأن ينمو لهم الحب. والتعاطف معنا - من المرجح أن نكون قادرين على أن نكون صادقين مع أنفسنا وبالتالي نؤسس علاقات جديرة بالثقة تدوم طويلاً وأن نكون مبدعين في نواح كثيرة مع بعضنا البعض.

عندما نتصرف بطريقة متواضعة - فإننا نسهل على الآخرين تجنب مشاعر العداء والغيرة ضدنا - وبالتالي فمن المرجح أن "يعجبنا" وأن يكونوا مستعدين لإقامة "علاقة" معنا. من المرجح أن نرى الأشياء من منظورهم وبالتالي نستمع إليها ونفهمها ونجعلها تشعر بالحب والتقدير. وهذا يمكّن الآخرين من الشعور بقدرتهم على أن يكونوا صادقين مع أنفسهم ، وأن يؤمنوا بأنفسهم وأن يكونوا مبدعين باستخدام البركات التي حصلوا عليها أيضًا لمساعدة الآخرين وكذلك نحن.

كلما أصبحنا أكثر تواضعًا - كلما أدركنا أننا جميعًا جزء من روح واحدة - وجود واحد ، ونبدأ في "رؤية" و "سماع" و "الشعور" بمحيطنا بطريقة تساعد على "توحيد "نا- نحن نركز على الأشياء المشتركة بيننا بدلاً من الجدال والقسمة بسبب خلافاتنا. نحن ندرك أنه لا يوجد إله آخر غير الله - وأنه وحده له الحق في أن نعبد. إنه يساعدنا على "التخلي عن" الصراع والغضب تجاه بعضنا البعض لأننا أقل احتمالًا لأن نفترض أننا على صواب وأن الآخرين على خطأ. وبدلاً من ذلك ، فإن كل ما نفعله - لا يتعلق بكسب بعضنا البعض - ولكنه لإرضاء الله وجزء من مشيئته الإلهية. نتركه يحكم على طرقنا ويوجهنا ، ونتوجه إليه لطلب المساعدة والعون ، ونصبح أكثر امتنانًا له ، وبالتالي نرجح أن نخدمه وفقًا لأفضل قدراتنا.

كيف يمكننا أن نصبح أكثر تواضعًا؟

في بعض الأحيان تحدث الأحداث في الحياة والتي "تصدمنا" من افتراضاتنا بأننا في السيطرة بينما من الواضح أننا لسنا كذلك. يمكن أن تساعد أحداث الحياة مثل فقدان شخص نحبه ، أو الطاعون الذي يدمر قدرتنا على إعالة أنفسنا - في تذكيرنا بأننا لسنا مكتفين ذاتيًا وأنه ربما كان بإمكاننا أن نكون أكثر امتنانًا لبركاتنا وأحكامنا. . يمكن أن يكون فقدان الثروة والصحة والأرواح والأطفال جميعًا تذكيرًا لنا بأن هذه الحياة ليست إلى الأبد ، وأن كل ما لدينا سوف يذبل ويموت وأن كل ما نأخذه إلى قبورنا هو أرواحنا - وبالتالي فهي كذلك. من المهم أن نعتني به. هذا التذكير بحد ذاته يمكن أن يكون متواضعًا جدًا بالنسبة لنا. هذا هو السبب في أنه خلال أحداث الحياة المؤلمة الكبرى ، من المرجح أن نلجأ إلى الله ونطلب المساعدة. من الأسهل بالنسبة لنا أن ننسى الله أو "كائن أسمى" عندما تشتت انتباهنا الملذات الدنيوية وغالبًا ما نكون جاحدين لها. ومع ذلك ، طالما أننا بشر - سنرتكب جميعًا أخطاء ونواجه أحداثًا في حياتنا نفترض أنها سلبية - حتى نفكر فيها ، ونتعلم منها لتحسين أنفسنا ، ونصبح أكثر امتنانًا ، وتذكر أن الأشياء يمكن أن تكون دائمًا. أسوأ.

يمكن أن يساعدنا ما يلي على أن نصبح أكثر تواضعًا:

بالرجوع إلى الله طلبا للمساعدة

البحث عن المعرفة والحكمة: في كثير من الأحيان لمزيد من التعلم ، كلما أدركنا أننا نعرف القليل جدًا.

إظهار الامتنان: في أوقات الراحة ، ولكن أيضًا في أوقات الشدة إذا استطعنا أن نتذكر أن الأمور يمكن أن تكون دائمًا أسوأ

من خلال التفكير في أوقات الشدة والضياع - لتذكير أنفسنا بأننا لسنا في نهاية المطاف السيطرة على كل شيء. يمكن أن يساعدنا هذا في الرجوع إلى الله - الذي يتحكم بشكل مطلق في الحياة وكل الوجود

من خلال اليقظة الذهنية - عندما نكون واعين لكلامنا وسلوكنا ونحاول معاملة الآخرين بالطريقة التي نود أن نُعامل بها نحن أنفسنا في كل ما نفعله - نظهر التواضع بأننا لا نفترض أننا أفضل من الآخرين.

من خلال أعمال المحبة اللطيفة

من خلال التواضع في سلوكنا وكلماتنا: تجنب التباهي بالكلام وارتداء الملابس والمشي والتصرف بطريقة محتشمة حتى لا نشعر بأننا نتفاخر ببركاتنا التي نالناها.

(تستند الكتابات أعلاه إلى انعكاسات الدكتور لال  تونجر)

يقتبس الكتاب المقدس عن "التواضع".

 

"عندما يأتي الكبرياء يأتي الخزي ، ولكن بالتواضع تأتي الحكمة". أمثال ١١: ٢  

"الكبرياء يذل الإنسان ، ولكن متواضع الروح يكتسبون الشرف". أمثال ٢٩:٢٣  

"التواضع مخافة الرب. اجرها ثروة وشرف وحياة. أمثال ٢٢: ٤

خذ نيري عليك وتعلم مني ، فأنا وديع ومتواضع قلبي ، وستجد الراحة لأرواحك. لان نيري هين وحملي خفيف. متى 11: 29- 30  

"قبل السقوط يتكبر القلب ، ولكن التواضع قبل الكرامة." أمثال ١٨:١٢  

جلس يسوع ودعا الاثني عشر وقال ، "كل من يريد أن يكون أولًا يجب أن يكون الأخير وخادمًا للجميع." مرقس 9:35  

فمتى أعطيت للمحتاجين فلا تنطقه بالأبواق كما يفعل المنافقون في المجامع وفي الشوارع ليكرّمها الآخرون. الحق اقول لكم انهم قد نالوا اجرهم كاملا. متى 6: 2  

"وصية الحكمة هي مخافة الرب ، والتواضع قبل الكرامة." أمثال ١٥:٣٣  

الرب صالح ومستقيم. لذلك يرشد الخطاة في طرقه. يهدي المتواضعين فيما هو صواب ويعلمهم طريقه ». مزمور 25: 8-9  

ثم قال لهم: من رحب بهذا الطفل الصغير باسمي يرحب بي ؛ ومن يرحب بي يرحب بالذي أرسلني. لأن الأصغر بينكم جميعًا هو الأعظم ". لوقا 9:48  

يجب أن يكون أكبر ؛ يجب أن أصبح أقل. يوحنا 3:30  

"لأنه حتى ابن الإنسان لم يأت ليُخدم بل ليخدم وليبذل نفسه فدية عن كثيرين." مرقس 10:45

الآن أنا نبوخذ نصر ، أمدح ملك السماء وأعظمه وأمجده ، لأن كل ما يفعله صحيح وكل طرقه عادلة. والذين يسلكون في الكبرياء يقدر ان يتواضع ». دانيال ٤:٣٧  

ليس لنا يا رب ليس لنا بل لاسمك المجد بسبب محبتك وإخلاصك. مزمور 115: 1

لا تبدو كآبة عندما تصوم كما يفعل المنافقون ، فإنهم يشوهون وجوههم ليظهروا للآخرين أنهم صائمون. الحق اقول لكم انهم قد نالوا اجرهم كاملا. ماثيو 6:16

وَيْلٌ لِلْقَائِمِينَ مَعَ صَانِعَهُمْ ، مَنْ لَيْسَ إِلَى بَشَرَاتٍ فَخَارِيَّةٍ عَلَى الأَرْضِ. هل يقول الطين للخزاف ماذا تصنع؟ "هل يقول عملك: ليس للخزّاف يد؟" إشعياء ٤٥: ٩  

والآن بعد أن غسلت أنا ربك ومعلمك رجليك ، يجب أن تغسل أرجل بعضكما أيضًا. يوحنا ١٣:١٤ | NIV

تأتي؛ لنسجد ونجثو أمام الرب خالقنا. مزمور 95: 6

'الرب يرسل الفقر والغنى. يتواضع ويرفع. 1 صموئيل 2: 7  

ابتهجي كثيرا يا ابنة صهيون. اهتفي يا ابنة القدس! هوذا ملكك ياتي اليك بارا منتصرا متواضعا راكبا على حمار على جحش ولد حمار. زكريا ٩: ٩  

ليس الأمر كذلك معك. بدلاً من ذلك ، من يريد أن يصبح عظيماً بينكما يجب أن يكون عبدك ، ومن يريد أن يكون أولاً يجب أن يكون عبدك. ماثيو 20: 26-27  

"ما هي البشرية التي تدركها ، والبشر الذين تهتم بهم؟" مزمور ٨: ٤  

"عباد الرحمن هم الذين يسيرون على الأرض بتواضع ، وعندما يخاطبهم الجاهلون يقولون كلمات سلام". القرآن 25:63

'ادعو ربك بتواضع وسرية. إِنَّهُ لاَ يُحِبُّ الظَّالِمِينَ. القرآن 7:55

"اذكروا ربك في أنفسكم بتواضع وسرية دون أن تعلنه في الصباح والمساء ولا تكن من الغافلين". القرآن 7: 205

"أنزل لوالديك جناح التواضع من الرحمة وقل: يا رب ارحمهم كما ربوني وأنا صغير". القرآن 17:24

"يوفق المؤمنون حقًا الذين يتواضعون في صلواتهم". القرآن 23:02

'ولا تحيد وجهك عن الناس بفخر ولا تسلك بوقاحة في الأرض. إن الله لا يحب كل متكبر متعجرف. القرآن 31:18

"وقد أرسلنا بالفعل رسلاً إلى أمم من قبلك ، ثم أخذناهم بالفقر والمشقة حتى يذلوا أنفسهم". القرآن 6:42

"أعطِ بشرًا لمتواضع القلب". القرآن 22:34

إن الذين آمنوا وعملوا الصالحات وأذلوا لربهم هؤلاء هم أصحاب الجنة. سوف يبقون فيه الى الابد. القرآن 11:23

Humility

What is Humility?

Humility is the quality of having a modest or low view of one's importance. The absence of any feelings of being better than others.

Why is Humility important?

To help us better understand the importance of humility- let us reflect on the harm that arrogance and pride- the opposite to humility- can bring. How does it make us feel when somebody speaks or behaves in a manner that gives us the impression that they believe themselves to be ‘better’ than someone else? When we are arrogant or proud, we are less likely to listen to others’ perspectives, and to understand and be open to self-reflection, mindfulness, less likely to be open to hearing about other perspectives on ‘truth’, to learning, to bettering ourselves. Arrogance also often leads to reduced levels of compassionate loving kindness that we show others, and therefore others are far less likely to listen to what we also have to say. This we find to short-lasting- if any- success in relationships, and in all other areas of life.

So much of humanity is divided. Much of this division is a result of conflict and mutual jealousy, and pride and arrogance and because of believing that we are right and others are wrong. Much of it comes from our lack of humility and therefore our inability to judge right from wrong. With humility, comes awareness, and understanding- we are more likely to grow spiritually, embrace and respect and love one another and forgive one another- we are less likely to therefore argue or fight over land, or power or materialistic wealth- because the more humble we are, the more likely we are to want to share our blessings with others because we feel less deserving of them- or we use them to help others as a way of proving our gratitude for them.

Instead of ‘blaming God’ for events that happen in our lives that we may perceive as negative- through humility we remember that He knows best and that everything is given out by Him in due measure- and that He is the Best of Planners- and that perhaps if we assume something to be bad, it may in fact be good, and that if we assume that something is good, that it may in fact be bad for us.

How can Humility help us?

We are all human, and we all make mistakes. Humans come in different shapes, sizes, colours, backgrounds- but we all share one thing in common- our soul, and our freedom to Believe. When we have humility, we are more likely to grow spiritually through learning from each other, and from personal life experiences. Most importantly- we are more likely to be able to treat each other how we ourselves want to be treated, and therefore be successful in all areas of life- especially in the ‘relationship’ with both The Creator, and His creation.

What makes anyone ‘better’ than someone else? We all have been given the right to ‘believe’ whatever we like as long as we are alive- and some may choose this right to believe to choose to believe that they are better than others because of the blessings that are given to them. But let us invite one another to reflect for a moment; When we believe that one can be ‘better’ than someone else because of their race or colour of their skin or because of how much material wealth he or she has, or because of the status of their job, or because how outwardly attractive they are, or because of a certain talent that they might have..- Let us ask ourselves- did we choose the colour of our skin or was it chosen for us? If we happened to be born into a different family, a different culture with less provision that we have today- would we be in the position that we find ourselves now? Did we choose our education or was it chosen for us? How much control have we really got over our materialistic wealth? - Are we able to take it to the graves with us? Did we choose all of the blessings which we believe we have or were they given to us and chosen for us? What did we do to deserve these blessings? Did we create our talents or were they given to us? How do we spend our lives using these blessings- do we use them to benefit ourselves or do we use them to benefit others who are less fortunate than us? Asking these questions can lead us to realise that in fact in life much of what we have is not because we deserve it- so it can help us to be more humble, boast less, and yearn to be more grateful. A great way to show our gratitude for our blessings is to share it with others, or use it in a way that helps those that are less fortunate than we are. In no means does it make us ‘better’ than others because we have established that much of what people become boastful and arrogant about- is not because of their self-sufficiency- so let us see it more of a test of humility and gratitude…

Through humility we find it easier to turn to God, who is the One that we may or may not believe is the One that has provided our blessings for us. Making mistakes is part of spiritual growth and development and being ‘human.’ As long as we make mistakes out of ignorance, are humble and turn to Him to repentance, and try to actively mend our ways, we are much more likely to be able to turn negative into positive and use this ability to help others. Through humility we are more likely to be able to ‘forgive’ others who wrong us, because we avoid thinking that we are better than them. By being able to forgive others and pardon others, we naturally feel ourselves that we are also worthy of forgiveness in the presence of God and this helps to improve our relationship with the Creator, The Subtle One, The Aware.

Instead of ‘blaming God’ for events that happen in our lives that we may perceive as negative- through humility we remember that He knows best and that everything is given out by Him in due measure- and that He is the Best of Planners- and that perhaps if we assume something to be bad, it may in fact be good, and that if we assume that something is good, that it may in fact be bad for us. When we have humility- we do not assume that we have all the answers. So we find it easier to ‘let go’ of the need to ‘control’ what we have no control over. BY being able to let go, we are more likely to move on from traumatic events and make the most out of the present and the future instead of dwelling on feelings of resentment and anger about the past. It enables us to take more responsibility of our lives with the abilities we have, rather than playing the victim and blaming others.

Those who believe in Him- realise through life events how short-lasting our blessings can be when we are not grateful about them, or if we boast or assume that our blessings make us better than anyone else less fortunate: Because in His Hands are the dominions of everything- He gives to whom He wills and takes away from whom He pleases.

So it is important to remind ourselves that we are not all that self-sufficient or ‘in control’ of our lives. We have free-will to be able to use our blessings to the best of our potentials- so let us show gratitude for our blessings by using them to help others who are less fortunate than we might be. But let us not look down on others- for perhaps they use their blessings in better ways than we do, even though it may appear to us that we are more blessed than they are.

For those of us that believe in God: The message that we can get from scriptures that have been sent to mankind for guidance and wisdom- is that  it is ultimately not what blessings we have that make us better than someone else, but how we use the blessings we have to worship God and help others. Only God knows our intentions and thoughts, and scripture encourages us not to be judgemental of one another- so even if one ‘appears’ to be more righteous than someone else- only He knows their intention behind their deed- so perhaps the one we look down upon is more pleasing to Our Lord than we are? Perhaps his or her intentions are purer than ours? Let us be humble and May He help us to remain humble and increase our humility so that we can maintain a good and healthy relationship with Him and others of His creation.

How can Humility help others?

Our level of humility can hugely affect our ability to ‘connect’ with others- other human beings, no matter what race or religion or background- as well as other creatures of creation. How do we feel in the presence of those who are boastful and proud and arrogant compared to in the presence of those who do not show off about their blessings, who are not too proud to admit their mistakes? So when we are more modest and humble ourselves, and act in a modest fashion in our behaviour- not boasting about our blessings and gifts that we may have been provided with- we help to make others feel better about themselves in our presence, so that they are more comfortable and able to be their ‘real selves’ in our presence. When we are more comfortable to be able to express our true selves in the company of one another without being made to feel uncomfortable or that we are looked down upon- we are more likely to grow our love for others, and for them to grow love and compassion towards us- we are more likely to be able to be true to ourselves and therefore establish longer lasting trustworthy relationships and be creative in many ways with one another.

When we behave in a modest fashion- we make it easier for others to avoid feelings of enmity and jealousy against us- and therefore they are more likely to ‘like’ us and be willing to establish a ‘relationship’ with us. We are more likely to see things form their perspective and therefore to listen to them and understand them and make them feel loved and valued. This enables others to feel more able to be true to themselves, believe in themselves and be creative using the blessings that they also have been given to help others as well as us.

The more humble we become- the more we realise that we are all part of one soul- one existence, and we start to ‘see’ and ‘hear’ and ‘feel’ our surroundings in a way which helps to ‘unite’ us- we concentrate on things we have in common rather than arguing and dividing due to our differences. We realise that there is no other Deity other than God- and that He alone has the right to be worshiped. It helps us to ‘let go’ of conflict and anger towards each other because we are less likely to assume that we are right and others are wrong. Instead whatever we do- is not about winning over each other- but it is to Please God and part of His Divine Will. We let Him judge our ways and guide us, we turn to Him for help and assistance, and we become more grateful to Him and are therefore more likely to serve Him according to the best of our abilities.

How can we become more Humble?

Sometimes events happen in life which ‘shocks’ us out of our assumptions that we are in control when we obviously are not. Life events such as losing a person we love, or a plague which destroys our ability to provide for ourselves- can help to remind us that we are not all that self-sufficient and that perhaps we could have been more grateful for our blessings and provisions. Loss of wealth, health, lives, children can all be a reminder to us that this life is not forever, and that all that we have will wither away and die and that all we take to our graves is our souls- and therefore it is important that we look after it. This reminder itself can be very humbling for us. That is why during major traumatic life events we are more likely to turn to God and ask for help. It is easier for us to forget God or a ‘Higher Being’ when we are distracted by worldly pleasures and often more likely to be ungrateful for them. However as long as we are human- we will all make mistakes and face events in our lives that we assume to be negative- until we reflect on them, and learn from them to better ourselves, become more grateful, remember that things could always be worse.

The following can help us to become more humble:

By turning to God for help

Seeking Knowledge and Wisdom: Often to more we learn, the more we realise that we know very little.

Showing gratitude: during times of ease, but also times of hardship if we can by remembering that things could always be worse

Through reflection during times of hardship and loss- to remind ourselves that we are not in ultimate control of everything. This can help us to turn to God- who is in ultimate control of Life and all existence

Through mindfulness- when we are mindful of our speech and behaviour and try to treat others how we ourselves would want to be treated in all we do- we show humility that we do not assume that we are better than others.

Through acts of loving kindness

Through modesty in our behaviour and words: avoiding boastful speech and dressing and walking and behaving in a modest fashion so that we do not make others feel like we are bragging about our blessings that have been given to us.

(Above Writings are based on the reflections of Dr Lale Tuncer)

Scripture quotes on ‘Humility.’

 

'When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom.' Proverbs 11:2 

'Pride brings a person low, but the lowly in spirit gain honour.' Proverbs 29:23 

'Humility is the fear of the Lord; its wages are riches and honour and life.' Proverbs 22:4

'Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.' Matthew 11:29-30 

'Before a downfall the heart is haughty, but humility comes before honour.' Proverbs 18:12 

Sitting down, Jesus called the Twelve and said, “Anyone who wants to be first must be the very last, and the servant of all.' Mark 9:35 

'So when you give to the needy, do not announce it with trumpets, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and on the streets, to be honoured by others. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward in full.' Matthew 6:2 

'Wisdom’s instruction is to fear the Lord, and humility comes before honour.' Proverbs 15:33 

'Good and upright is the Lord; therefore he instructs sinners in his ways. He guides the humble in what is right and teaches them his way.' Psalm 25:8-9 

'Then he said to them, “Whoever welcomes this little child in my name welcomes me; and whoever welcomes me welcomes the one who sent me. For it is the one who is least among you all who is the greatest.”' Luke 9:48 

'He must become greater; I must become less.' John 3:30 

'For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.' Mark 10:45

'Now I, Nebuchadnezzar, praise and exalt and glorify the King of heaven, because everything he does is right and all his ways are just. And those who walk in pride he is able to humble.' Daniel 4:37 

'Not to us, Lord, not to us but to your name be the glory, because of your love and faithfulness.' Psalm 115:1

'When you fast, do not look sombre as the hypocrites do, for they disfigure their faces to show others they are fasting. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward in full.' Matthew 6:16

'Woe to those who quarrel with their Maker, those who are nothing but potsherds among the potsherds on the ground. Does the clay say to the potter, ‘What are you making? ‘Does your work say, ‘The potter has no hands’?' Isaiah 45:9 

'Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet. John 13:14 | NIV

Come; let us bow down in worship, let us kneel before the Lord our Maker.' Psalm 95:6

'The Lord sends poverty and wealth; he humbles and he exalts.' 1 Samuel 2:7 

'Rejoice greatly, Daughter Zion! Shout, Daughter Jerusalem! See, your king comes to you, righteous and victorious, lowly and riding on a donkey, on a colt, the foal of a donkey.' Zechariah 9:9 

'Not so with you. Instead, whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first must be your slave.' Matthew 20:26-27 

'What is mankind that you are mindful of them, human beings that you care for them?' Psalm 8:4 

‘The servants of the Most Merciful are those who walk upon the earth in humility, and when the ignorant address them, they say words of peace.’ Quran 25:63

‘Call upon your Lord with humility and in private. Verily, He does not love transgressors.’ Quran 7:55

‘Remember your Lord in yourselves with humility and in private without announcing it in the mornings and evening, and do not be among the heedless.’ Quran 7:205

‘Lower to your parents the wing of humility out of mercy and say: My Lord, have mercy upon them as they brought me up when I was small.’ Quran 17:24

‘Successful indeed are the believers who humble themselves in their prayers.’ Quran 23:02

‘And turn not your face away from men with pride, nor walk in insolence through the earth. Verily God likes not each arrogant boaster.’ Quran 31:18

‘And we have already sent messengers to nations before you, then we seized them with poverty and hardship that perhaps they might humble themselves.’ Quran 6:42

‘Give good news to the humble-hearted.’ Quran 22:34

‘Indeed, they who have believed and done righteous deeds and humbled themselves to their Lord- those are the companions of Paradise; they will abide eternally therein.’ Quran 11:23

 

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
ADDRESS

The Universal God Centre

32-34 Castle Street

Shrewsbury

SY1 2BQ

SUBSCRIBE FOR EMAILS